Hiroshima Castle

Castle / Ruins of Castle
Hiroshima Castle, which was built by Mori Terumoto, one member of Toyotomi Hideyoshi’s Council of Five Elders, is also known by another name, Carp Castle, and is counted as one of Japan’s three greatest flatland castles. The main keep which was constructed in 1598 was designated a National Treasure in 1931, but was destroyed by the atomic bombing. The exterior was restored in 1958 with a ferro-concrete structure. In 1989, as the castle welcomed 400 years of history, the ni-no-maru was restored, the moat was cleaned, and the interior was remodeled, and now it is used as a history museum with the theme of samurai culture.

Spot details

Address
Hiroshima Pref. Hiroshimashinakaku Motomachi 21-1
Phone
0822217512
Hours
[Mar.--Nov.] 9:00-18:00 (Admission until 17:30) [Dec.--Feb.] 9:00-17:00 (Admission until 16:30)
Closed
12/29-12/31
※May close outside of stated days
Fees
[Tenjokaku] [Adult] 370yen [Senior (65 and over)/High school students] 180yen * Certificate required * Junior high school students and below Free
Parking Lot
Not available
Credit Card
Not available
Smoking
Not available
Wi-Fi
Available(hiroshima_free Wi-Fi)
Note
Temporary closure:Currently closed (information as of May 20, 2020)
*Information may be changed, so please be sure to check the official information.
Average budget
[Lunch] 1-1,000yen
Estimated stay time
30-60 minutes

Information Sources:  NAVITIME JAPAN

Articles about this spot

Access

Nearest spot

          There is no Station nearby. There is no Bus Stop nearby. There is no Parking nearby. There is no IC nearby.

          Other areas of Hiroshima

          + -
          back
          open

          Spots around

          Share this spot

          back

          Copy to clipboard completed.