Former To-o Gijuku Missionary Residence

Memorial Hall
Located near Hirosaki Castle’s O-temon gate, the Former To-o Gijuku Missionary Residence was built in 1901 as a lodging house for English instructors invited to teach at the To-o Gijuku, the first private school opened in Aomori Prefecture. Modeled after Western-style architecture, the building features Western-style chimneys and a trussed roof. The interior presents the lifestyle the teachers of the time living at the residence enjoyed. The first floor operates as a café, while the second floor is used as a museum space. Several Western-style miniature buildings stand in the facility's garden, and visitors can view them at their leisure from the windows.

Spot details

Address
Aomori Pref. Hirosakishi Shimoshiroganechou 2-1
Phone
0172375501
Hours
9:00-18:00
Closed
New Year's holiday (However, it may be temporarily open)
Fees
[Visit fee] Free
Parking Lot
Available (88 spaces)
* Otemon Square underground parking lot
Credit Card
Not available
Smoking
Not available
Note
Tel connects to Hirosaki Municipal Tourist Center.

Information Sources:  NAVITIME JAPAN

Access

Nearest spot

          There is no Station nearby. There is no Bus Stop nearby. There is no Parking nearby. There is no IC nearby.

          Other areas of Aomori

          + -
          back
          open

          Spots around

          Share this spot

          back

          Copy to clipboard completed.