Saihoji Temple Fumeikaku西方寺普明閣
The Fumeikaku building at the Jodo sect Saihoji Temple, is a temple dedicated to Kannon, the Goddess of mercy. It is located within the townscape preservation area in Takehara City, Hiroshima Prefecture. The wooden standing statue of the eleven-headed Kannon, which was the principal image of worship in the Zen temple of Myohoji which used to stand on this site, is enshrined here. The building, built in 1758, is said to have been modeled on Kiyomizu-dera Temple in Kyoto, and is characterized by the way it has been constructed in the manner of a stage with its double roof of traditional tiles. The view from the Fumeikaku overlooks the town of Takehara and the Seto Inland Sea and is a popular spot frequented by many tourists.
Hiroshima Pref. Takeharashi Honmachi 3-10-44 (Kure / Higashi-HiroshimaArea)
- Hiroshima Pref. Takeharashi Honmachi 3-10-44 [ map ]
- Precincts Free
- Grounds freedom
- Credit Card
- Not available
- * The stage of Fumyokaku is not available for a while due to restoration work.
Information Sources: NAVITIME JAPAN
- On foot aboutminutes
- about m
- View route from Station View route from Bus Stop View route from IC View route from Parking
Nearby Tourist Attractions
Hiroshima Main Areas
There is more than meets the eye awaiting any Hiroshima-bound traveler. Kicking off in Hiroshima city, the Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima Castle, and Shukkeien Garden offer a couple of days of exploring; however, the real beauty lies along the southern coast of the prefecture. There, a series of islands spreads across the Seto Inland Sea: from the mysterious sea-submerged Great Torii Gate at Miyajima Island to the first half of the islands that connect Honshu to Shikoku via six spectacular suspension bridges.