Japan Travel by NAVITIME - Japan Travel Guides, Transit Search and Itinerary Planner



The general name for the four islands, Jinoshima, Torajima, Kamishima, and Okinoshima, between Wakayama Prefecture and Awajishima Island. On the uninhabited Okinoshima there are the remains of numerous forts giving it a look similar to the animated movie “Laputa: Castle in the Sky.” The azure sea surrounding the islands is beautiful and the walking course is popular.

map zoom out image pin
place Wakayama Pref. Wakayamashi Kada



Wakayama Pref. Wakayamashi Kada [map]

Information Sources:  NAVITIME JAPAN


    There is no Station nearby.
    There is no Bus Stop nearby.
    There is no Parking nearby.
    There is no IC nearby.

Wakayama Main Areas


Wakayama prefecture unites pilgrims, food lovers, and culture buffs in a tranquil corner of Japan at the base of the Kii Peninsula. The setting for many a Kumano Kodo pilgrimage trail, Wakayama invites those in search of spirituality from one side of the prefecture to the other, from the 100-plus Buddhist temples of the sacred Mount Koya in the west to the inspiring temples of the Kumano Sanzan set among breathtaking nature in the east. Once the grueling hike is complete, make a beeline for Wakayama city to savor some of the country's most delicious ramen noodles.

Related Articles