A-Bomb Dome

Historical Monument
An atomic bomb was dropped on the city of Hiroshima on August 6, 1945. Just about 160 meters northwest of the bomb’s hypocenter was the Hiroshima Prefectural Industrial Promotion Hall, which was built in 1915. The building was destroyed by the explosion’s blast and heat rays, and while the ceiling was burned, miraculously the center portion of the main building escaped destruction, and the round steel frame of the dome on the top that remained came to be called the “A-Bomb Dome.” It is a building to tell future generations about the tragedy of war and destruction, and is registered as a world heritage site as a symbol to appeal to the world for the abolition of nuclear weapons and the importance of enduring peace.

Spot details

Address
Hiroshima Pref. Hiroshimashinakaku Otemachi 1-10
Hours
Free appearance tour
Closed
open everyday
Fees
Free
Parking Lot
Not available
Credit Card
Not available
Note
* Only the exterior can be visited

Information Sources:  NAVITIME JAPAN

Articles about this spot

Access

Nearest spot

          There is no Station nearby. There is no Bus Stop nearby. There is no Parking nearby. There is no IC nearby.

          Other areas of Hiroshima

          + -
          back
          open

          Spots around

          Share this spot

          back

          Copy to clipboard completed.