Suma Seaside Park須磨海浜公園
A park located a five-minute walk from JR Sumakaihinkoen Station and right next to the Wakamiya interchange. Once the site of a villa belonging to the Sumitomo family, after the residence' destruction in an air raid, the grounds were donated to Kobe City and then, after appropriate construction measures were taken, turned into a park in 1951. Today, the foundations of the villa's arbor still stand, as well as gateposts and stones laid around the circumference. The sandy pine grove which spans the park has been selected for inclusion in a list of top 100 white sand beaches with green pine groves in Japan. The Former Wadamisaki Lighthouse, Japan's oldest extant iron lighthouse, has also been moved to the park's grounds. The park bustles with visitors in the spring and fall come to fish along the coast.
Hyougo Pref. Koubeshi Suma-ku Wakamiyachou 1 (Kobe / Arima / AkashiArea)
All day open
- Hyougo Pref. Koubeshi Suma-ku Wakamiyachou 1 [ map ]
- All day open
- open everyday
- Parking Lot
- Credit Card
- Not available
- ※ Tel is for inquiry of Weekday only.
Information Sources: NAVITIME JAPAN
- On foot aboutminutes
- about m
- Route from this Station Route from this Bus Stop Route from this IC Route from this Parking
Nearby Tourist Attractions
Hyogo prefecture stretches from the north coast to the south coast on the western end of the popular Kansai region, encompassing verdant mountains, urban beaches, and fantastic historical sights. The prefecture’s main attractions lie along the south coast at Kobe, the prefectural capital, a pretty harbor city best known for its production of the renowned Kobe beef, and Himeji, the home of Himeji Castle, one of the country’s most beautifully preserved feudal castles, perched magically atop a hill.